Organization : ICAC

The International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC) started honoring aresearcher in 2009 by awarding him/her a certificate of recognition, a shieldand an honorarium of US$1,000. Every year applications are invited fromFebruary 1 to March 31 and a winner is announced on May 1. The SelectionCommittee is comprised of five anonymous judges outside the ICAC Secretariat.There are two winners of the ICAC Researcher of the Year 2012, Dr. Yusuf Zafarfrom Pakistan and Dr. Andrew Paterson from the USA.

Dr. Yusuf Zafar, Chief Scientist/Director General, Agri & Biotechnology Division,Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission, Islamabad, is a pioneer who established astrong and viable cotton biotechnology research program in Pakistan. He haspublished over 110 scientific papers in reputable national and internationaljournals. His group accounts for nearly 90% of the global published literaturein cotton virology. His strong collaborative efforts resulted in joint researchwith major cotton groups in the world, particularly in Australia, China, UK andUSA. Dr. Zafar was on the front line of efforts to establish BiosafetyProtocols, Plant Breeder Rights, Intellectual Property Rights/Patents and ISOcertification in Pakistan. Dr. Zafar and his team contributed substantially tothe elevation of researchers in Pakistan, and they mentored nearly 100 mastersstudents and 30 doctoral students in the country on various aspects of R&Din cotton. He organized 32 national/international training courses, workshopsand conferences on various aspects of cotton. In 2001, the Pakistan AtomicEnergy Commission, Dr. Zafar's parent organization, awarded him the BestScientist of the Year Award. The President of Pakistan awarded him‘Tamgha-e-Imtiaz (Medal of Distinction) in 2004, the highest recognition for aresearcher in the country. Dr. Zafar is a member of USDA Cochran Fellow onAgriculture Biotechnology and also won Rockefeller Foundation and UNESCOResearch Awards on Agri-Biotechnology. He is at present on the Board ofGovernors of the International Centre for Genetic Engineering andBiotechnology-ICGEB (Italy), he is a FAO country focal person on agriculturebiotechnology, and he is a member of the Cotton Policy Committee of the Govt.of Pakistan.